IELTS stands for ‘International English Language Testing System’. It is a test of English Language pro-license. IELTS is jointly administered by the University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations, the British Council and IDP Education Australia. It is affirmed by almost all Australian, British, Canadian, Irish, New Zealand and more than 1800 US academic institutions. IELTS is the only acceptable English test for immigration to Australian, UK and Canada.

The IELTS test structure

There are two modules of the IELTS:

Academic Module

It is designed for those who want to join universities and other institutions of higher education and for professionals such as medical doctors and nurses who want to study or practice in an English-speaking country.

General Training Module

It is designed for those planning to undertake non-academic training or to gain work experience, or for immigration purposes.

The IELTS test comprises four parts – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. Scores are reported in the range of band from 1 to 9 for each part of the test – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. The average produces the overall band score. You can score whole (e.g., 5.0, 6.0, 7.0) or half (e.g., 5.5, 6.5, 7.5) bands in each part of the test for the individual module and overall test. All candidates receive the same Listening and Speaking Modules. But the Reading and Writing Modules vary depending on the candidate taking either the Academic or General Training Versions of the Test.

Total Test Duration

All three tests: Listening, Reading and Writing are completed in one sitting whereas Speaking tests may be taken on the same day or up to seven days before or after the other tests.

Listening – 30 Minutes

Reading – 60 Minutes

Writing – 60 Minutes

Speaking – Less than 15 Minutes

Total Test Duration: 2 hours and 45 minutes.

Test Preperation

Heritage Educational Services provides excellent service, guidelines and of course best-required help to the needed students or applicant.